City of New Hope Logo

City of New HopeMinnesota

Council Members

Mayor Kathi Hemken (2009-2024)

Kathi HemkenMayor Hemken was elected to her first term as mayor in 2008 and was reelected in 2012, 2016 and 2020. She has been a resident of New Hope since 1976.

Hemken’s community involvement includes: New Hope Planning Commission member and chair, Metropolitan Council Land Use Committee, North Metro Mayors Association (president two years), Hennepin County Active Living, Regional Council of Mayors, Northwest YMCA board member, New Hope Women of Today, League of Women Voters of Crystal, New Hope, and East Plymouth, Ambassador Care Facility Advisory Board, School District 281 volunteer.

Hemken is a retired production control supervisor at Honeywell. She has a B.S. degree from the University of Minnesota.


Phone: 763.537.7990
[email protected]

Council Member John Elder (2008-2026)

John Elder

Council member Elder was appointed to the City Council in May 2008 to fill a vacant Council seat. He was elected to complete the final two years of the unexpired term in a Special Election in November 2008 and reelected to four-year terms in 2010, 2014, 2018 and 2022. He has been a resident of New Hope for more than 25 years.

Elder’s community involvement includes New Hope Police Explorers - conducts annual training in hostage/crisis negotiations, Wings Soccer Club/Minnesota Thunder West Academy manager, Commissioner for the Bassett Creek Watershed Management Commission, and New Hope Community Farmer's Market founding and current Board Member.

Elder has worked for 30 years in law enforcement for the Hennepin County Sheriff's Office, Lakeville Police Department, New Hope Police Department, Minneapolis Police Department and Isanti County Sherrif's Office. He is currently a captain for the Robbinsdale Police Department. 

He has a A.A. degree in criminology from North Hennepin Community College, a B.S. in police science from St. Mary’s University in Minnesota and an M.A. in public safety administration from St. Mary’s University.


Phone: 612.578.4322
[email protected]


Council Member Andy Hoffe (2005-2024)

Andy HoffeCouncil member Hoffe was elected to City Council in 2004 and reelected in 2008, 2012, 2016 and 2020. He has been a resident of New Hope for more than 40 years.

 Hoffe’s community involvement includes: Northwest Community Television board.

 Hoffe is a retired District 281 government and economics teacher at Robbinsdale and Cooper high schools. He is an active substitute teacher for the district. He has a B.A. degree in social studies and business education.


Phone: 763.537.2647
[email protected]

Council Member Michael Isenberg (2020-2024)

Council Member IsenbergCouncil member Isenberg was elected to City Council in 2020. He has been a resident of New Hope since 2005.

Isenberg's community involvement includes serving on the New Hope Citizen Advisory Commission and West Metro Fire-Rescue District Community Emergency Response Team. Isenberg was a member of the Space Needs Task Force for the new city hall and police department facility as well as committees for the new Civic Center Park and New Hope Aquatic Park.

Isenberg works as a senior business analyst  for Insight and has a bachelor's degree from Minnesota State University Mankato. 


Phone: 612.568.2337
[email protected]  


Council Member Jonathan London (2015-2026)

Jonathan London

Council member London was elected to his first term in 2014 and reelected to another four-year term in 2018 and 2022. He has been a resident of New Hope since 1976.

London’s community involvement includes serving on the New Hope Citizen Advisory Commission, and Robbinsdale Spanish Immersion School.

London is an investment advisor for Oakwood Capital, Inc.

He has a BBA from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in accounting, economics and finance and an International Business Certificate.


Phone: 763.546.1293
[email protected]

City of New Hope | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.